Moab Happenings Archive
Return to home

DARK SKY HAPPENINGS - June 2020

Moab UT (at City Hall)
38O34’ N Latitude
109O33’ W Longitude
4048 ft - 1234 m

Drawn to Public Lands for RenewalBy Crystal White

In Utah, we are fortunate enough to have 75% of our state be public lands. Lands we can mountain bike across, 4x4 drive over, hike around, backpack deep into, raft its rapid rivers, climb up its rock faces, base jump off its cliffs, slackline across its canyons, photograph its many views, rock hound its hills, visit its ancient dwellings, canoe its flat water, motorboat across its lakes, take paved highways to view scenic vistas in, and enjoy its nightscapes where we can take in the stars. We are so fortunate.
Sunrise-Sunset for June
(The time of sunrise and sunset assumes a flat horizon.
Actual time may vary depending upon the landscape.)

DATE

SUNRISE

SUNSET

Mon, Jun 1

5:54 am

8:37 pm

Tue, Jun 2

5:54 am

8:38 pm

Wed, Jun 3

5:54 am

8:38 pm

Thu, Jun 4

5:54 am

8:39 pm

Fri, Jun 5

5:53 am

8:40 pm

Sat, Jun 6

5:53 am

8:40 pm

Sun, Jun 7

5:53 am

8:41 pm

Mon, Jun 8

5:53 am

8:41 pm

Tue, Jun 9

5:53 am

8:42 pm

Wed, Jun 10

5:53 am

8:42 pm

Thu, Jun 11

5:53 am

8:43 pm

Fri, Jun 12

5:53 am

8:43 pm

Sat, Jun 13

5:53 am

8:43 pm

Sun, Jun 14

5:53 am

8:44 pm

Mon, Jun 15

5:53 am

8:44 pm

Tue, Jun 16

5:53 am

8:45 pm

Wed, Jun 17

5:53 am

8:45 pm

Thu, Jun 18

5:53 am

8:45 pm

Fri, Jun 19

5:53 am

8:45 pm

Sat, Jun 20

5:54 am

8:46 pm

Sun, Jun 21

5:54 am

8:46 pm

Mon, Jun 22

5:54 am

8:46 pm

Tue, Jun 23

5:54 am

8:46 pm

Wed, Jun 24

5:55 am

8:46 pm

Thu, Jun 25

5:55 am

8:46 pm

Fri, Jun 26

5:56 am

8:46 pm

Sat, Jun 27

5:56 am

8:46 pm

Sun, Jun 28

5:56 am

8:46 pm

Mon, Jun 29

5:57 am

8:46 pm

Tue, Jun 30

5:57 am

8:46 pm



As we move through life, it’s very easy to take things for granted. With the recent stay at home orders, we have all experienced, it became apparent to us just how important it is to be able to visit and recreate in our public lands. These natural spaces we enjoy spending our free time within are the same spaces that rejuvenate us, renew us. It was a sudden removal of our routines, including our recreational outlets. It was a shock to our systems.

Once the orders lifted, these lands became overcrowded during a time when social distancing was still an order from Governor Herbert, a testament to just how important these lands are to us all. Understanding the importance of these lands, we have an opportunity to show our support for them. Whether we clear litter we come across, help build a trail with a trail crew, volunteer for a workday, follow the land agencies regulations to protect the resource or donate to a non-profit that protects these landscapes, every little action helps. Let’s renew our relationship with our public lands in a way that cares for them and preserves them.

Change can also happen very subtly. We have all heard the adage if you place a frog in water and slowly bring it to a boil, the frog will not notice and be boiled alive. As a city grows, the ability to view the night sky can be washed out by our lights. Instead of looking up and seeing stars, planets, and the moon, we look up and see an orange glow. We may still be able to see the moon; however, we may not take note anymore. These are all comments I have heard from city dwellers across the world. While Moab is still relatively rural, we are slowly losing our rural character. Using light in a way that limits skyglow is one of many ways we can keep the rustic feel in our town and preserve the view of the stars for our children and grandchildren to come.
The Moab Dark Skies was established by the Friends of Arches and Canyonlands Parks in conjunction with the National Park Service and Utah State Parks Division of Natural Resources.


MOON HAPPENINGS
Jun 5 - Full Moon at 1:12 pm
Jun 28 - First Quarter at 2:15 am

 
Return to home

© 2002-2020 Moab Happenings. All rights reserved.
Reproduction of information contained in this site is expressly prohibited.