Moab Information
 Moab Links
 Lodging
 Restaurants
 Menu Guide
 Shopping
 SE Utah Real Estate
 Attractions & Activities
 SE Utah Parks
 Health & Wellness
 Moab Services
 Museums
 Clubs and Organizations
 
 Current Calendar (Home)
 Yearlong Event Calendar
 
Monthly Articles
 Dark Sky Happenings
 Gallery Happenings
 Geology Happenings
 Healthy Happenings
 Nature Happenings
 Non-Profit Happenings
 Paleo Happenings
 Sustainability Happenings
 Motorized Happenings
 Article Archive
 
 Schedules
 KZMU Program Schedule
 Arts in Moab
 Moab Art Walk
 Moab Arts Council

 Moab Arts Festival

 MARC  (Moab Arts &   Recreation Center)
 Moab Artist Studio Tour
 Moab Photo Symposium
 Red Rock Arts Festival
 The Dust Magazine
 
 About Us
 Contact Us
 Moab Happenings Staff
 Subscribe
 Home
Moab Happenings Home

DARK SKY HAPPENINGS - May 2020

Moab UT (at City Hall)
38O34’ N Latitude
109O33’ W Longitude
4048 ft - 1234 m

Be Neighbor Friendly: Let’s Talk About Outdoor Lighting
By Linn DeNesti

 

Sunrise-Sunset for May
(The time of sunrise and sunset assumes a flat horizon.
Actual time may vary depending upon the landscape.)

DATE

SUNRISE

SUNSET

Fri, May 1

6:18 am

8:11 pm

Sat, May 2

6:17 am

8:12 pm

Sun, May 3

6:16 am

8:13 pm

Mon, May 4

6:15 am

8:14 pm

Tue, May 5

6:14 am

8:15 pm

Wed, May 6

6:13 am

8:15 pm

Thu, May 7

6:12 am

8:16 pm

Fri, May 8

6:11 am

8:17 pm

Sat, May 9

6:10 am

8:18 pm

Sun, May 10

6:09 am

8:19 pm

Mon, May 11

6:08 am

8:20 pm

Tue, May 12

6:07 am

8:21 pm

Wed, May 13

6:06 am

8:22 pm

Thu, May 14

6:05 am

8:23 pm

Fri, May 15

6:04 am

8:24 pm

Sat, May 16

6:04 am

8:25 pm

Sun, May 17

6:03 am

8:25 pm

Mon, May 18

6:02 am

8:26 pm

Tue, May 19

6:01 am

8:27 pm

Wed, May 20

6:01 am

8:28 pm

Thu, May 21

6:00 am

8:29 pm

Fri, May 22

5:59 am

8:30 pm

Sat, May 23

5:59 am

8:30 pm

Sun, May 24

5:58 am

8:31 pm

Mon, May 25

5:58 am

8:32 pm

Tue, May 26

5:57 am

8:33 pm

Wed, May 27

5:57 am

8:34 pm

Thu, May 28

5:56 am

8:34 pm

Fri, May 29

5:56 am

8:35 pm

Sat, May 30

5:55 am

8:36 pm

Sun, May 31

5:55 am

8:36 pm

Recently, a brochure was mailed to residents and businesses in the City of Moab and Grand County about the outdoor lighting ordinances passed last year. As a small community, we can approve effective ordinances that benefit the whole, but how do we help each other as neighbors when it comes to assessing our outdoor lighting? No one wants to accuse their neighbor of creating a problem, so it’s essential to build trusting relationships from the bottom up.

First, make an effort to get to know your neighbors. Are they part-time residents or long-time locals? If we have even casual relationships with those who live next-door and on our street, we’re more likely to be able to approach a conversation to problem-solve an outdoor lighting issue that floods your back yard or causes you to lose sleep.



Second, be observant and establish common ground if possible, whether it’s bird watching, having kids the same age, or gardening. Once conversations begin, doors to sharing other interests and concerns can open. You might mention that you noticed their motion lights stay on for hours then offer to help adjust the sensor. Or you can help your neighbor find solutions to their lighting needs. Maybe it only requires a change in habits: turn lights on only when needed, illuminate areas with no more light than necessary, and dim or turn off the lights during late-night hours. A thoughtful, helpful attitude goes a long way in building friendly bonds.

Finally, encourage neighbors to join you in coming up with ideas that bring everyone closer together. If you have a neighbor who goes away for weeks and leaves their outdoor lights on, this might be a good time to establish a “neighborhood watch” as a way of helping the entire neighborhood feel more secure while using compliant lighting. You may find that once you have some real needs and friendly, supportive ways to connect, the conversation about outdoor lighting will be more productive.

The most important thing about helping to problem-solve is to be willing to create a positive point of entry into your relations with neighbors. Many times, a neighbor didn’t realize their lights were on all night, or their motion sensor was broken. When a problem gets resolved, express your thanks. Showing appreciation helps to cement trust and create friendships and better lighting in our neighborhoods.

We’re here to help! For more information, lighting assistance, or for lighting and retrofitting resources, please contact:
• Grand County Community and Economic Development Department – Mila Dunbar-Irwin – mdunbarirwin@grandcountyutah.net – 435-259-1343
• Moab City Planning Department – Cory Shurtleff – cshurtleff@moabcity.org

The Moab Dark Skies was established by the Friends of Arches and Canyonlands Parks in conjunction with the National Park Service and Utah State Parks Division of Natural Resources.


MOON HAPPENINGS
May 7 - Full Moon at 4:45 pm
May 29 - First Quarter at 9:29 pm

email Moab Happenings
© 2002-2020 Copyright Moab Happenings.  All rights reserved.
Reproduction of information contained in this site is expressly prohibited without the written permission of the publisher.